The Young Brent Foundation Team

Matthew band CEO Young Brent foundation

Matthew band
Chief Executive

Matthew Band has 25 years business experience including the last 15 years in the Charity Sector at an Executive and Non-Executive Director level.


With a Science Degree, Teaching Qualification and an MBA from Leeds University Business School, he was in Corporate Sales & Marketing with a US multi-national and then transitioned in to the Charity Sector, where he was Co-founder, Trustee and Chief Executive of One in a Million, an Educational Charity helping children & young people in Bradford, and also established the OIAM Free School as an Academy Trust Member.

Whilst in Bradford, he also sat on the Young Lives Bradford Strategic Group, was a Founding Director of the YLB Consortium and represented the children & young people’s Sector on the Children’s Trust Board and became Chair of the Bradford District Assembly, representing up to 3000 community organizations across the District.


Before joining the Young Brent Foundation, he was Chief Executive at Action4Youth, a Youth Sector Infrastructure Support Charity in Bucks with over 100 Members and two Outdoor Residential Centres.


Matt is accountable to the YBF Board of Trustees and for the overarching performance, outcomes, and impacts the YBF is having on the Youth Sector, the community, young people and their families in Brent.

 Claire Clottey Sector development Manager

Claire Clottey
Sector development Manager

Claire graduated with a Degree in Film and Broadcasting Production 2004 and is an international, award-winning broadcast journalist, creating written, audio and digital content inspired by her passion for culture and commitment to #inform #entertain and #inspire diverse audiences. For 3 years, she was the distinctive voice on #TheConversation a news and current affairs show on The Beat 103.6FM. She is a ghostwriter and writer for


Her warmth, energy, and empathy are undoubtedly the reason she is such a hit with anyone who crosses her path. Representing a largely underrepresented population of educated, socially active and articulate urban professionals in the western world, Claire Clottey’s voice is being heard, her face is being seen and her name is certainly being remembered, for the right reasons.


Claire Clottey is a multi-dimensional presenter with an excellent reputation for her personable manner, engaging humor, eloquent diction, refreshing honesty, and confidence. Claire was awarded the Screen Nations Digital Is Media 'Favourite Online Presenter' in 2015.

A qualified youth and community development worker (L4 LDS in Youth Work and L6 Post Graduate Certificate – NPQICL in early years leadership 2010), with over 12 years experience managing projects that support young people and their families. Specializing in working with vulnerable young people, Claire successfully supports children and young people at risk of social exclusion through mentoring, workshop facilitation and by providing training and development support to professionals working with young people.


Claire has worked as a Consultant for many charitable organizations to develop and implement strategic and operational business plans and services. Currently working as a Sector Development Manager for the Young Brent Foundation, she is mapping services, implementing the 'theory of change', advocating the needs of the youth voluntary sector whilst influencing policy development.


Some of her recent partnerships have included Freshstart in Education, Fulham Football Club, NCS-The Challenge Network and Future First.


AT YBF Claire is responsible for recruiting to the membership, support each member needs and for the promotion and development of the presence the YBF has in and around Brent.

Ian Lewin Operations Manager

Ian Lewin
Operations Manager

Ian has a wealth of experience in the travel industry, working in several roles culminating as a specialist consultant, project manager, and strategic director, implementing solutions that maximize profits and revenue opportunities for businesses and customers.

Ian has several industries leading qualifications (BA Fares 1,2,3,4, ACBT and MCBT – Guild of Business Travel Agents, Qualified Web Developer – Learning Tree, Qualified Turbo Sabre programmer, Dale Carnegie – Effective Communication and Human Relations and Best in Class Leadership Programme) and has successfully implemented large-scale, company and inter-company projects for online booking, CRM, data analysis, reporting, performance, KPIs and working practices as well as line managing teams and individuals .

At YBF Ian is responsible for the back-office functions, performance management systems and making sure everyone knows where things are at financially for both internal and external stakeholders.

Bob Harrison – Business Development Manager

Satbir West
Business Development Manager

Satbir is a seasoned executive manager with 20+ year’s experience at senior management level. Her rich and dynamic career has included work as a Business Development Manager for vocational training provider ATG Training , Regeneration, Tourism and Sports Development Manager for Wycombe District Council and as an Independent Consultant for several Education Provisions.

Her business acumen is also evident in her personal ventures as Satbir has managed her own company, Connexplus based in Buckinghamshire; a professional project management support service specialising in the areas of business strategy, training, development ,company restructure and change management.


As a high achieving and ambitious working mother, Satbir is passionate about making a change and providing opportunities for those who historically have found it difficult to access traditional services, particularly young people. Working with empathy and a clear, concise attitude, Satbir is known to mobilize people, projects and communities, ensuring that there is a shared approach and responsibility for progress.

Satbir is keen to introduce best practice from her experience in the business sector focusing on building excellent relationships across the youth voluntary sector in Brent.

Her role at YBF will primarily focus on key relationships, bid-writing and income generation from the wide variety of sources available and through the strength of the membership, bringing together the talent and skills needed for the YBF and its members to succeed.

Young Brent Foundations Trustees

Jennifer Ogole – Chair of Trustees

Sandra White

Julian Hall

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This